SpaceX RSS News

  • STARLINK MISSION
    by ksmith on February 17, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    On Monday, February 17 at 10:05 a.m. EST, or 15:05 UTC, SpaceX launched its fifth Starlink mission from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida.Falcon 9’s first stage previously launched the CRS-17 mission in May 2019, the CRS-18 mission in July 2019, and the JCSAT-18/Kacific1 mission in December 2019. You can watch a replay of launch below and learn more about the mission in our press kit. […]

  • STARLINK MISSION
    by ksmith on January 29, 2020 at 7:20 pm

    On Wednesday, January 29 at 9:06 a.m. EST, or 14:06 UTC, SpaceX completed its fourth launch of Starlink satellites from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. […]

  • CREW DRAGON LAUNCH ESCAPE DEMONSTRATION
    by ksmith on January 20, 2020 at 1:00 am

    On Sunday, January 19, SpaceX successfully completed an in-flight test of Crew Dragon’s launch escape capabilities from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. This test, which did not have NASA astronauts onboard the spacecraft, demonstrated Crew Dragon’s ability to reliably carry crew to safety in the unlikely event of an emergency on ascent. […]

  • DRAGON RESUPPLY MISSION (CRS-19) SPLASHDOWN
    by ksmith on January 8, 2020 at 9:23 pm

    Packed with about 3,800 pounds of cargo and science, SpaceX’s Dragon spacecraft departed the International Space Station on Tuesday, January 7. A parachute-assisted splashdown in the Pacific Ocean occurred that morning just west of Baja California. A recovery team then secured Dragon on a boat for the return trip to the Port of Los Angeles, wrapping up SpaceX’s 19th resupply mission to the space station. […]

  • Starlink Mission
    by ksmith on January 7, 2020 at 4:35 pm

    On Monday, January 6 at 9:19 p.m. EST, or 2:19 UTC on January 7, SpaceX launched its third launch of Starlink satellites from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. […]

  • JCSAT-18/KACIFIC1 MISSION
    by ksmith on December 17, 2019 at 6:32 pm

    On Monday, December 16 at 7:10 p.m. EST, SpaceX launched JCSAT-18/Kacific1 from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. The satellite was deployed approximately 33 minutes after liftoff. […]

  • DRAGON ARRIVES AT THE INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
    by ksmith on December 8, 2019 at 7:28 pm

    Dragon arrived at the International Space Station on December 8, 2019 and was captured at 2:05 a.m. PDT while flying over 250 statute miles over the South Pacific. The spacecraft was then installed on the Harmony module for the duration of its four-week stay at the orbiting laboratory. […]

  • DRAGON RESUPPLY MISSION (CRS-19) LAUNCH
    by ksmith on December 5, 2019 at 7:28 pm

    On Thursday, December 5, SpaceX launched its nineteenth Commercial Resupply Services mission (CRS-19) at 12:29 p.m. EST, or 17:29 UTC, from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. Dragon separated from Falcon 9’s second stage about nine minutes after liftoff and attached to the space station on Sunday, December 8. […]

  • STARLINK MISSION
    by ksmith on November 11, 2019 at 11:38 pm

    On Monday, November 11 at 9:56 a.m. EST, 14:56 UTC, SpaceX launched 60 Starlink satellites from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. […]

  • STARSHIP UPDATE
    by ksmith on September 29, 2019 at 8:51 pm

    SpaceX's Starship and Super Heavy launch vehicle is a fully, rapidly reusable transportation system designed to carry both crew and cargo to Earth orbit, the Moon, Mars, and anywhere else in the solar system. On Saturday, September 28 at our launch facility in Cameron County, Texas, SpaceX Chief Engineer and CEO Elon Musk provided an update on the design and development of Starship. You can watch a replay of update below and learn more about the vehicle at spacex.com/starship. […]